President Buhari watches as Tinubu, Atiku, Obi, others sign Peace Accord

Eighteen presidential candidates for the Saturday, February 25 presidential election, today February 22, signed a pact towards a peaceful election.

Some of the presidential candidates present include Bola Tinubu (APC); Atiku Abubakar (PDP), Rabiu Kwankwaso (NNPP), and Dan Nwanyanwu (ZLP), Labour Party’s Peter Obi.

Unlike elections prior to 2015 when the National Peace Committee came into existence, presidential candidates for the 2023 polls are made to sign the Peace Accord twice.

The first one was signed in September last year, prior to the commencement of Campaigns. That accord was signed to oblige the candidates to a peaceful Campaign.

This signing is the second at last to be signed by the candidates, and it’s to enlist their commitment to a peaceful conduct of the 2023 presidential election.

Members of the peace committee present include General Abdulsalami Abubakar, Bishop Matthew Kukah, and Dr. John Momoh, CON. Others were the Inspector General of Police (IGP) Usman Alkali Baba, and former president of South Africa, Thabo Mbeki, who leads the Commonwealth Election Observer Group to Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *